About the Southwest Conservation District

Past District Projects At-A-Glance

The Southwest Conservation District is a non-profit conservation agency established in 1946. We work with other public and private agencies, per CT General Statute Sec. 22a-315 to protect the land and water resources and improve the quality of life for all in Fairfield and New Haven Counties. Our project work is financed by individual, municipal, and corporate contributions, as well as private foundations and federal/state grants. We also fund conservation activities through our Earth Day tree and shrub seedling sale and other fundraising efforts.

Our Organization is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors and staffed by an executive director, full time environmental analyst/natural resources conservationist (when funding allows) and field volunteers and interns. We work in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service, The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (CT DEEP), and the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). We work to identify and remedy soil erosion, sediment control and water conservation concerns to assist the  Commissioner of CT DEEP.

We work across southwest Connecticut both in the office and the field, to provide educational materials and hands-on technical assistance to landowners, farmers and land-use staff from the 43 municipalities in our service area, to solve local soil erosion and water quality problems.

Improved soil conservation and water quality means healthier natural systems. These systems provide water for drinking, eating, bathing and recreational activities such as swimming. These same healthy systems create habitat for healthy organisms and plants, both inland and on coastal Long Island Sound. Improved habitats, protected natural resources and their native populations also are beneficial to humans.

The District provides education and technical assistance in water and soil protection and conservation, and in cooperation with the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, work with landowners in the following categories: (1) Water Quality Protection and Watershed Management, (2) Wetland Protection, (3) Soil Erosion & Sediment Control, (4) Conservation Planning, (5) Conservation Easement Planning, and (6) Conservation & Environmental Education.

The Southwest Conservation District provides service Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Since we are in and out of the office, you are invited to reach out via email as the best way to connect with our staff.